A father, again…

“I’m late,” she said.

“How late?” I responded.

“Late, late,” she said, emphasizing the first word in the repetition.

“Whoa…” I said, as my thoughts turn into a kaleidoscopic vision of what lay ahead for the next nine months.

I’m going to be a father, I thought to myself. But I’m already a father. I’ve got four living children and one in Heaven.

“Behold, children are a heritage from the Lord, the fruit of the womb a reward…”

Children change everything.

Eleven years ago one child took a shiftless young couple and made a family. One child became two, became three, became four…  and now five.

Our household already is filled with the varied chirping and trills of children, to this we shall add the bawling of an infant. If the Lord is gracious, our child will be born in the early days of the New Year.

My mind is a-whirl with wonder and fear.

Wonder at what great potential await this new life, of what he or she shall bring to the world and to our family. Fear also, that all proceeds as it should and that mother as well as child shall bear this pregnancy as “uneventfully” as possible.

Already we have started with thinking about names, gender, bedroom arrangements, and other such practical concerns. There are a few adjustments to be made but, on the whole, things will largely progress as they have.

Candace’s employment at the school will likely continue as planned, albeit with a temporary leave after the Christmas holiday. My own recent promotion and salary raise ensure that we will not be a burden to our government or local community. We shall remain, as ever, self-sufficient.

In this day and age, the idea of having more than one or two children is often greeted somewhere along the spectrum of polite disbelief (“You have how many kids?”) to downright contempt (“As if the world wasn’t over populated enough!”). But for us it is a blessing.

Of course, I won’t pretend that this child was planned. No more than any of the rest. But neither will I be treated as though my wife and I are unthinking breeders. Contraception was used. It failed…  again. C’est la vie! Such is life.

And we will adore this new life. Indeed I adore him/her already. In the short span since coming to know of this new son or daughter, I have already had several dreams about another child. My curiosity is piqued at what will come of this new addition to our family.

Once again…  I’m going to be a father.

The Lord is good.

13 thoughts on “A father, again…

  1. The blessing of the LORD makes one rich … .
    I don’t believe in contraception anymore, now that it’s too late to matter; instead, I believe in “be fruitful and multiply” … now that I’m past the age to do so physically … perhaps can spiritually.
    I rejoice to hear that you and Candace are continuing to do so in every sense.
    I think it’s a good thing for Christian families to grow, and I’m glad you two do, too.
    Congratulations and continued blessings!

  2. I’m in agreement with Kathleen and am also probably too old for it to matter. Our 3rd, JT, was the result of no longer using contraception.

    God is good, and you all are great parents!

Leave a Reply

