2010 WordPress wrap-up

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

“The Blog-Health-o-Meter™ reads Wow.”

Really? That’s all?

“Wow.”

So after thousands of journal entries, millions of words, and countless hours trying to communicate some semblance of a thought, I have finally elicited a “Wow.” Well, mission accomplished. I guess I can close ‘er down now. That’s all I’ve been after all this time.

Still… WordPress has even more to say on the matter:

Crunchy numbers

A Boeing 747 passenger jet can hold 416 passengers. This blog was viewed around 10,500 times in 2010. That’s about 25 full 747s!

In 2010, there were 95 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 2,253 posts. There were 166 pictures uploaded, taking up a total of 31mb. That’s about 3 pictures per week.

The busiest day of the year was June 3rd with 517 unique visitors. The most popular post that day was Greed is not God.

Ah yes, I remember that day and the vast mulititudes of one-off quips and remarks. I think some websites or message boards linked to the article, because I was hearing from a bunch of complete stranger mostly.

On one side I was getting slammed by earnest defenders of the oilfield and on the other side there were a host of fringe environmentalists calling for the end of fossil-fuel usage. I got tired of all the nonsense so I disabled commenting and deleted a bunch of comments I thought missed the point of the post.

Where did they come from?

The top 5 visitor locations in 2010 were (in no particular order) Annapolis, Maryland; Austin, Texas; Los Angeles, California; Norman, Oklahoma; Overton, Texas.

No surprise there. Two of those are places I’ve lived, and another is my current locale. Two of those are large metropolitan area with dear friends and family members residing within.

So, what’s ahead for 2011? Hmm…  not sure.

I’m thinking about overhauling my bio, updating my blogroll (if not dropping it entirely), and abandoning the reading list. I’d also like to maybe tweak the layout a little bit to be more iPhone-friendly.

My output has waned considerably this year, and I’m considering a new approach. Perhaps I’ll write more frequently, with less content, or less frequently with more content. I’m undecided.

Currently I’m entertaining a couple of intriguing offers that will impact how much spare writing time I will have this year. There are at least two book opportunities that I’ll have to decide on by the Spring, and I’ve been contacted to write a weekly column for a web magazine.

Eventually, something will have to give…  probably. Yes, definitely maybe.

Leave a Reply

