“I now pronounce you husband and wife…”

So I have spent the better part of the last day or so in New Orleans, officiating the marriage of an old friend.

It was your classic tale of boy meets girl, boy loses girl, boy finds girl, boy gets Colon Cancer, boy beats illness into remission, boy marries girl on a pier overlooking a marshy bayou as the Sun slips silently into the horizon.

Hmm…  so maybe it’s not that “classic” but it was certainly real. In fact, I can think of no better description than that: it was real.

Oftentimes I have attended weddings that glistened with the smoothed edges of pristine ritual. Every bridesmaid’s dress matching perfectly, the accoutrements harmonious from place-setting to flower arrangements.

This afternoon’s fete was hardly a regimented affair, but it was full of Soul.

From it’s location along the Mississippi Delta to the steaming pots of Filé Gumbo and crawfish. From the tender songs the bride and groom shared, to my own extemporaneous exhortations…  it was a sacred and boisterous ceremony.

New Orleans makes an interesting backdrop to a wedding.

The strange discord of modern American commerce and archaic antebellum finery. The pungent swelter of late Spring and the low murmur of music being played at every street corner. Cobblestone and steel.
|

Before the wedding, I have to admit, I wasn’t sure what I was going to say.

In every wedding I have presided over, I prefer to inquire of the couple as to their own preferences with regards to the vows and overall narrative. Fortunately, I have been granted a certain degree of liberty with my end of things, liberty enough to speak freely of the couple and to make whatever declaration I see prudent.

The amount of trust given to me by the couple in this regard always gives me pause, as I wish to speak truly and well.

More than this is my reverence for the sanctity of marriage and my place as a servant before these people. I prize holy matrimony so highly that I must perform the rite with my utmost for His highest.
|

So, even as I write these words, Jarrod & Lori celebrate their first sunset as husband and wife.

My thoughts and prayers go with them, so long as they both shall live.

Leave a Reply

