At the Coming of the Summer

“…it’s Summertime and the livin’ is easy,
the fish are jumpin’ and the cotton is high…”

Tomorrow is the “official” First Day of Summer, the Summer Solstice, in which our hemisphere of the Earth is angled directly towards the Sun.
|

I was speaking with a colleague of mine a few minutes ago and he expressed a sentiment of considerable dread for the coming season; the long hot days with only rare and intermittent reprieves of rain.

“Even the nights are miserable!” he said, throwing up his arms in a gesture of petulant futility.

I think not so…  what is more, I hope to savor these months.
|

With the exception of the infirmed or the destitute, there is little reason to be so held captive by this planetary tilt towards the Sun’s face which shall bring no less than two full months of deep heat that lingers well into a third.

Sure, my beloved and I shall have to be mindful to stay hydrated while we work outdoors. Mowing will have to be done in the earlier or latter parts of the day, and we may have to water our lawn if we go more than a week or so without rain. It is a trifling predicament and one easily overcome.

Our backyard is, for the most part, rather shady and the children have a small wading pool in which to play. I foresee no difficulty in their acclimating to the Texas Summer, though they will have to be brought along somewhat gradually.
|

I am aware of a certain impatience that I possess towards what I believe to be a “fatalistic” attitude with regard to the Summer. To treat something as mundane as the weather with such dread and avoidance.

Of course…  the elderly must take such developments with serious precaution, poor families without an A/C unit should seek some manner of assistance, and those with pets or livestock must proceed with care.

All of these things are granted and, in my opinion, perfectly reasonable.
|

In trying to get a handle on the impetus for my annoyance, the only thing that comes to mind is that it seems to indicate a certain unrestrained craving for absolute and perpetual comfort.

To live entirely at ease and without struggle or encumbrance. An epicurean attitude which I find, especially in men, to be repugnant.
|

I am not suggesting one purposelessly drag one’s unshod feet along the searing asphalt out of some misguided test of machismo, or that one must never indulge in occasional creature comforts or sweet reprieves.

“To everything there is a season, and a time for every purpose under Heaven.” is it written in the Scriptures, and surely it is so for the Summertime as well.

So cease your complaints and get out in it for a spell. Let the Sun draw sweat from your brow and glower upon your bare skin.

Feel your body strain in one chore or another, and let yourself be strengthened in enduring such meager trifles.

4 thoughts on “At the Coming of the Summer

  1. Well, I er… um… kind of feel his pain? I dread summer every year. But, it doesn’t stop me from swimmin’.

    The children and I will be in Colorado for 7 weeks later this summer. I’m not sure how far y’all are. Would you have any interest in meeting somewhere? Last time I was in Texas, it took me 4 or 5 hours to get to Amarillo, and 8 hours to get to OK City. I know East Texas would be farther away. Do you think it would be worth the effort?

    Robin

  2. That’s all I’m really saying Robin. It’s not as though I’m entirely unsympathetic to the discomfort of the heat or anything, it’s the complaining about it that I despise… especially coming from a man.

    We’re about two hours east of Dallas and five hours south of OKC. I’m not sure where in Colorado you guys will be at, but it’s at least 12 hours to the state line from where we’re at.

    As much as I would love to get together with ya’ll, I can’t really see a scenario that’s at all practical.

  3. Yeah, I agree. That’s pretty far. We’ll be 50 miles SE of Denver. Amarillo is only about a half day drive, but I know you all live farther away than that.

    I want to visit Texas someday. My stepsister lives in Austin. If we ever make it out there, I’ll let you know.

  4. Same here… we’d love to host you guys if/when you head in this direction. I also have a soft spot for NC in a big way and would love to do a Summer on the Carolina coast.

    Maybe next year… 😉

Leave a Reply

