“…I scatter crumbs upon the sill…”

I awoke this morning to the fragrance of Thai Coconut Chai tea and snowflakes.

Peering upward through the bedroom skylight, I saw the thin glistening of icy snow melting from the heat of our warmer indoors rising.

White light breaks through into the gray room.

|

Between then and now has only been a few brief waltz o’ the hours, but the day is nearly half-past.

Hesitating ‘midst the madness of my day, I lean upon this hiatus to ponder and wonder at what is yet to come.

“…feathered dark in thought, I stalk like a Rook,
brooding as the Winter night comes on…”

Broad circular snowflakes swirl across the black sheen of the pavement. Harried and windswept, hastily melting into a cold dirty slush. I feel them in my beard and hair, a mild wet chill.

Our time here grows small. By my reckoning there is no more than a fortnight ’til our departure, though we are still finalizing certain arrangements. Suffice to say, I am making a concerted efforts to settle all accounts in the manifold personal and professional spheres of my existence.

My heart is a torrent of raging emotions. I am anxious and yet strangely content, I am apprehensive and yet eager, I am sad to leave the dear ones I have come to know but thrilled to reunite with others I have not seen in far too long.

Tonight, there is church. Our custom of mid-week festivities and feasting. Expectation and tension furrows my brow at the thought(s). There are words to be spoken, and heard. Prayers uplifted over bowed heads.

|

Even so…  the gulls fly screaming over the yawning Bay; the sullen white surf beats against its steep sides; the great shroud of the Sea rolls on, just as it rolled five thousand years ago.

Leave a Reply

