See, Hear, Taste, Smell, Feel

Lazing about on a quiet Sunday afternoon.

I`ve not done a lot today, little more than puttering around the yard and answering correspondence, but I`ve enjoyed this brief interlude in the midst of harried weekdays. Walking around the house with a book. A whole lotta nothing going on.

A friend, whom complained in a letter to me of my halting and intermittent communications of late, inquired of me the following “What have you been…” survey.

Inasmuch as I am desirous to bring a quick end to my time at my desk this afternoon, I will eagerly oblige him.

WHAT HAVE YOU BEEN…

READING:

Leaves of Grass by Walt Whitman (ever my de rigueur Summer read)

The Reason for God by Tim Keller

Vintage Jesus by Mark Driscoll

Walking to Martha`s Vineyard by Franz Wright

When You Are Engulfed in Flames by David Sedaris

LISTENING:

Viva La Vida by Coldplay

Food & Liquor by Lupe Fiasco

St. Elsewhere by Gnarls Barkley

The Odd Couple by Gnarls Barkley

What Makes the World Go `Round? by Al Green

WATCHING:

House, MD (reruns)

the NBA Finals (BEAT LA!)

– fireflies dancing in the cool breezes of early eve…

ENJOYING:

– Sunsets over the Bay…

– putting faith and philosophy into action…

– being athletic again after far too long a hiatus…

– sweating out the impurities in the warm Summer sun…

– the cacophany of children and dogs running through the house…

Of all of this mess, one thing I must add in addendum in that I haven`t been spending much, if any, time on the computer in recent days. Such has been the continued pattern of these many days, weeks, months. I must say that I prefer it… that is to say, I`d rather consume my days in this fashion than in the alternative.

Lo, I have wasted and languished days long to the former, and I have come to lament the hours spent before the droning maw of the flickering computer monitor… all the while a hurting world raged all around me.

May I ne`er recover.

Leave a Reply

