a Rollins in the Wry

Mood: “…thirsty & miserable…”

Weather: “…losing the light of the Sun…”

Reading: Eye Scream by Henry Rollins

Listening To: Illumination by Rollins Band

Today is the birthday of Henry Rollins… he is 47 years of age.

Rollins, in one manner or another, left a rather significant “literary” influence over me – especially since I first picked up the book Get In The Van in the late 1990s.

“…if I lose the light of the sun, I will write by candlelight, moonlight, no light. If I lose paper and ink, I will write in blood on forgotten walls. I will write always.

I will capture nights all over the world and bring them to you.”

A fan of his music since being introduced to Damaged by the older sk8ter punks of my neighborhood, Rollins diaphragm-spraining vocalizations play as a soundtrack to numerous sweaty Summer days of my youth… broken pavement and skinned knees. His books occupied many of the cold lonely nights of my young adulthood… laughter punctuated by sighs and silence.

We struck up a correspondence some years back… existing mostly in shared bits of trivia and pontification. Rarely finding a common ground, but always enjoying the back and forth. At least, enjoying it enough to keep writing to each other.

The most recent letter from Rollins was sent during my initial reconnaissance trip to Annapolis, expressing a sort of wry and subdued pleasure at hearing of my moving to his former stomping grounds (the DC area) – even recommending the Bullis School for my ornery son. “After all,” he writes, “I turned out so well.”

If you are reading this Henry, either in the dark recesses of your cramped apartment in LA or on your beat-up laptop in the midst of a crowded airport terminal, here`s to many happy returns of the day.

Leave a Reply

