Colin`s 30th

When I first met Colin, I did not like him; he was just too… nice. Of course, this was Junior High School and I was a foolish boy.

As I got to know him, I became well versed with his singular charm and rapist wit. The usual shenanigans, tomfoolery, and ballyhoo surrounding us and our little tribe continued on even after the inevitable parting of ways following graduation. Time moves on, people too.

Colin found a home in academia, and my wanderlust pushed me further out of shared circles… years pass, the dying embers of a long-forgotten friendship cool into ash. Not forgotten… but simply lost in the raging tumult of todays, tomorrows, and yesterdays.

“…I seem to recognize your face.

Haunting, familiar – yet, I can`t seem to place it.

Cannot find the candle of thought to light your name…”

…and then, seemingly out of nowhere, our paths cross in serendipitous providence – each other`s countenances barely recognizable `neath the sediments of events and obligations.

Words smiles laughter sorrow tears are all shared in eyelash flickerings of seconds. We find that there is more of our substance shared, as men, than whatever frivolities we might have known together as boys.

Yet still, time has its way of settling accounts… Colin`s journey takes him down a different road, and still I watch him from afar… keeping him in my prayers and listening to the wind for word of his deeds.

Colin will do well, he always has. Of that, I have no doubt.

On this day, Colin, I raise my cup to you in health. Happy thirtieth birthday my friend!

May the LORD grant you many more, and may He grant you the Grace to bear them well.

Leave a Reply

