If I Could Talk, I Would Speak

If I could talk I would tell you

of the mute anguish which paralyzes my mind

as I fumble for the manifold words

which fail to come when heeded.

That I would

say all

say all of that which is always left unsaid

unheeded unbidden

when needed most…

…the gestures spoken and not,

all fleeting and endurant.

If I could talk I would tell you

tell you the secrets which reside in me,

of pains resonate and true…

…of purity fragrant and few.

That I would unburden

unburden myself

of the shackles of vain vanities

protocols and inculcated inanities…

…and speak of an unblemished Truth

a precious and rare Truth

before an array of lying eyes.

If I could talk I would sing

sing such chords

chords that would move your tender frame

let your Spirit soar within you,

shake your Soul with tears,

bathe your mind in solemn tranquility.

If I could talk, I would tell you

all of this and more,

if I could talk, I would tell you…

Leave a Reply

