For An Unsung Servant

You didn`t know that I saw you but I did…

you, my student,

and somehow also my teacher.

I watched you attend to the needs of another

unheeded and surreptitious,

as though you wished to aide them

invisible and anonymous…

…serving them to serve them,

not to bring attention to yourself.

A simple and honest gesture,

done not for any personal gain

but that it was needful for another.

Your attempt was almost successful,

as none knew your actions of impulsive kindness

save for me,

and I did nothing

and I did nothing

to indicate to you that I knew.

…but I want to say to myself,

in a faade of secrecy,

that I did see what you did

and it was beautiful.

Almost as beautiful as you are to me.

Leave a Reply

