"Go Dtuga Dia Suaimhneas Dá Anam"

Phil Lynott, Ireland`s ``Black Rose``

Philip Parris Lynott

1949 – 1986

“Tell me the legends of long ago, when the kings and queens would dance in the realm of the Black Rose. Play me the melodies I want to know, that I might teach my children so.

Pray tell me the story of young C Chulann: how his eyes were dark, his expression sullen – and how he`d fight and always won – and how they cried when he was fallen. O, tell me the story of the Queen of this land – and how her sons died at her own hand – and how fools obey commands. O, tell me the legends of long ago…

Where the mountains of Mourne come down to the sea: Will she no come back to me, will she no come back to me? O, Shenandoah I hear you calling, far away you rolling river, roll down the mountain side on down, on down – go lassie, go!

O, tell me the legends of long ago, when the kings and queens would dance in the realm of the Black Rose. Play me the melodies I want to know, that I might teach my children so!

My Roisin Dubh is my one and only true love:

It was a joy that Joyce brought to me…

While William Butler waits…

And Oscar, he`s going Wilde…

Ah sure, Brendan where have you Behan?

Looking for a girl with green eyes, my dark Rosaleen is my only colleen…

That Georgie knows Best…

But Van is the man…

Starvation once again…

Drinking whiskey in the jar, Oh!

Synge`s Playboy of the Western World…

As Shaw, Sean I was born and reared there, where the Mountains of Mourne come down to the sea, is such a long, long way from Tipperary

O, tell me the legends of long ago, when the kings and queens would dance in the realm of the Black Rose. Play me the melodies I want to know, that I might teach my children so!”

In the privacy of my own thoughts, I have been singing all of my favorite songs of his – shedding secret and silent tears for all of the tragedy that befell him, entirely of his own doing.

Leave a Reply

