Happy Birthday, Candace…

On this day, in the year of our LORD 1978, my precious wife was born to C. Samuel and Rhonda Gale Daniels in a suburb of Dallas. Yes… today my Candace turns 28 years of age, and this marks the tenth birthday we have spent together – first as a couple, then as man and wife.

I remember the first one… with the assistance of my mother and siblings, I threw her a surprise birthday at my parents` house before taking her out for dinner at the China Pearl, a movie at the Northloop, and a late evening spent at Brothers coffeehouse. So much has changed since those seeming golden-toned days.

Candace has lived in tumultuous times. Her life has been an arduous one, more difficult than almost any other of which I am familiar. Without indulging in the various details, I can say that she has been graced to overcome the sort of sufferings and torments that have bent others like a reed in the wind.

If those that now know her well were made entirely aware of what she has overcome in her twenty-odd years, they might marvel that she was able to turn out even somewhat well-adjusted, let alone mature into the magnificent woman that she is today.

Candace has grown from a tender and passionate young woman, strong beyond her years – to a serene matriarch, virtuous in her care of our children; as well as a vigorous help-mate to her husband, obliging to me in every capacity that bespeaks a deep well of loving-kindness. She makes me want to be a better husband to her, and a better father to our children – and, to me, exemplifies so much of the woman described in the 31st chapter of Proverbs.

Every so often, I will allow my imagination to dance after itself in contemplation of what might have been, had I known my beloved in our respective youths – that I might have been some “island of calm” amidst her sea of troubles. That we could have known each other even then as “other selves” in innocent and child-like affection.

O, that I could have been there for her… to stand before her adversaries and wield a wrathful vengeance against her tormentors – to be then what I am now: her confidant, her protector, and her closest companion.

All the same, it is precisely that she endured those things alone that contributed to the person she is now – and I would not have it any other way.

Verily I do not revel in her past trials, yet I do glory in how the LORD overcame the afflictions of vile and unrighteous minions – to bring forth so lovely a gem out of the fires of pain and suffering.

I know that I carry on and on but, even so, I know I can only reveal a vague impression of her through my ham-fisted ramblings – but today I celebrate the day of her birth, and thank the LORD for granting me so rare a wife as Candace.

Daily do I thank the LORD for her, and on this day especially.

Happy birthday my dearest love, and may we be granted many more of the sweet days we have enjoyed together…

Leave a Reply

