Sometimes I Have Good Dreams

Sometimes I have good dreams,

that I run and dance and twirl my arms

and I twirl my arms for no reason

except that I can.

In my dreams I walk through mud

and I don`t care

that it feels squishy gross between my toes,

but I am happy

that I can feel it.

Sometimes I have good dreams,

that I am not a prisoner of my body

that my hands can move as easily as my thoughts

that girls don`t look at me with sad eyes

that other boys don`t think I`m weak.

Sometimes I have good dreams,

and I never want to wake up.

Written by “Algernon” a 15 year-old Quadriplegic student of mine, afflicted by Muscular Dystrophy.

Leave a Reply

