A Broken Heart & An Empty Womb

On this, the third day of March, my wife and I have lost our child… who was to be our third-born.

“While the child was still alive, I fasted and wept – for I said, `’Who knows whether the LORD will be gracious to me, that the child may live?`

But now my child is dead. Why should I fast? Can I bring him back again?

I shall go to him – but he will not return to me.”

I have never known so fierce a pain as this… to lose almost anything but my child, I think, would have been an easier burden. This is a wound that, I fear, I shall never heal from completely.

You… whose young life was still so cloaked in mystery, are to be kept ever-hidden from these eyes now. I will never know you to walk upon this earth and grow from fledgling youth into flowering adulthood. Never will you frolic and play with your brother and sister, nor be held fast in the arms of your earthly parents. `Til this mortal coil of mine be shuffled off into Heavenly Glory, you will remain a secret to your mother and I – for we cannot know you until then.

My only consolation in this is the knowledge that even as He was so merciful to share even a glimmer of this joy with us, there is not one thing that is His that can ever taken from His omnipotent hand – and even as I mourn, my child has been upheld by He that is the Resurrection and the Life. This is, indeed, a mighty consolation.

Though this ache may ne`er leave me, my hope in Him can never be overcome – and pain such as this will only force me heavier upon my knees, that I must lean upon Him.

My child is dead – my child yet lives! Selah.

One thought on “A Broken Heart & An Empty Womb

Leave a Reply

