Labor Day

Traditionally it has been a day of feasting and celebration in this country. A time to celebrate all of those that labor, and permit them some respite from the vanity of toil.

“Do not labor for the food that perishes, but for the food that endures to Eternal Life, which the Son of Man will give to you. For on Him GOD the Father has set His seal.”

My thoughts run wild… hurtling across the long horizon to my Brothers; their labors unceasing. Living (and, in many places, dying) for the cause of our LORD.

Even now, my Brothers work earnestly for those that are suffering from the recent Tempest along the Gulf Coast. Hopefully bringing the Living Water as well as the bottled variety. Giving prayer and comfort to those that hurt, sharing the love of the Messiah with needy souls. Letting their love go before them in the ministry of the Cross. For these people, it is a time to build up and a time to heal – may the eternally merciful LORD grant restoration, in the fullness of His desire.

Even now, there is a Brother standing resolute for his Faith, under pain of death. Blessed martyrs falling under the sword, withholding not even their very lives in willing sacrifice. No greater love. The cause of Christ is not bound by the tyranny of evil men.

“My food is to do the will of Him who sent Me and to accomplish His work. Do you not say: There are yet four months, then comes the harvest? Look, I tell you, lift up your eyes, and see that the fields are white for harvest. Already the one who reaps is receiving wages and gathering fruit for eternal life, so that sower and reaper may rejoice together. For here the saying holds true: One sows and another reaps.

I sent you to reap that for which you did not labor. Others have labored, and you have entered into their labor.”

In my contemplations, I am bewildered by the past and present – with intermittent flickering of the future days to come. Quick though I might say that future days will be better than these, it is not from wisdom that I think this. For what lay ahead is hidden from me, and to commit such prognostication is a vain grasping after the wind.

I thank the Holy Father for this day – for all that have come before and any more that might come after this one. I thank Him for the labors He has put before me – and the abundance of Grace He provides for the work of my hands.

May GOD be glorified.

“Come to Me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. Take My yoke upon you, and learn from Me, for I am gentle and lowly in heart, and you will find rest for your Souls.

For My yoke is easy, and My burden is light.”

Amen.

Leave a Reply

