What Kind Of American English Do You Speak?

I took this quiz today to find out what sort of linguistic idiosyncrasies or regional dialects I might possess. It is a funny little test and rather accurate, at least, in my case.

Having been born in New England and raised predominantly in the Deep South (by multi-regional parents), my manner of speech is rather inconsistent. I find myself using “ya`ll” with “you guys” often in the same paragraph – not to mention my love of older, archaic and even foreign forms of speech.

Your Linguistic Profile:

50% General American English
35% Yankee
10% Dixie
5% Upper Midwestern
0% Midwestern

Leave a Reply

