XXVIII

So now it is XXVIII that I am turning.

I have had quite a few of these “birth days”. Days that remind me that someday I will die.

I think of the victorious Roman General, parading before the people in full glory – as a man stands behind him and reminds him that:

“Thou art but a mortal, and thy glory is fleeting…”

So now it is XXVIII.

In what seems like only moments ago, I recall sitting here at my desk and rambling on about my 27th birthday and in a flash of light and turn of a corner, it has already become XXVIII.

Verily, I can look back ten years and marvel at how quickly time has flown by.

Ah yes, ten years…

XVIII

I am humbled and shamed by my words. The words of a profane and lustful manchild. Obsessed with conquest and self-glorification in all things. Living in open rebellion against God and even persecuting His children for occasional amusement.

Wherefore have I come?

I surmise myself now as His. Willing only to serve Him how I may – receiving no glory for myself but living only to bear witness to His Glory, which is naught but His due.

I am a Man. Time, pain, wisdom Thou dost provide. May Your hand never leave me and may you continue to bless me with suffering and peace, that I might be conformed to the image of Your Son.

In all tings I wish to glorify you – and on this day, as I am reminded that some day I will be held accountable for my life, my only solace is in Your mercy and the work of Your Son, Your Messiah, Your Christ, Your Anointed One.

May my twenty-eight years become a testimony to Your work in the world. That so great a sinner as I can too be redeemed by the work of Christ. That there are none that are Yours that fall away. That even in the womb, You knew me and set me apart.

So now it is XXVIII and I am thankful. Lord, You (in Your Wisdom) have seen fit to grant me another year of life. You have given me time to continue the task at hand. Though I eagerly await the World-That-Is-To-Come, I take solace in the knowledge that You are sovereign and will accomplish all things in accordance with your Will in the proper time.

Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me. Cast me not away from your presence, and take not your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and uphold me with a willing spirit.

So now it is XXVIII. May it be, according to Your Will, Lord…

One thought on “XXVIII

Leave a Reply

