Awake, O Sleeper

Mood: Wide Awake
Weather: Cool and Breezy
Reading: Mozart by Maynard Solomon

Listening To:
Native American Tribal Music

Looks like it’s gonna be an all-nighter. I have been lying in bed, tossing and turning for over two hours and I surrender. I am going to stay up all night. I have class tomorrow from 9 am to 4 PM, so this is a questionable decision.

I think I will work for the next few hours, take a quick jog around the block and catch the sunrise. Then I will shower, eat and head off for class – of course, I am sure I’ll stop somewhere for a big ol’ cup o’ coffee. Maybe I will stop by 7-Eleven and get one of those 44 ounce cups and fill it with enough coffee and cappuccino to keep Cleveland awake for a week.

In the meantime, I think I`ll finish my two assignments for Music Appreciation:

1.) A brief description of the life/work of W. A. Mozart.

2.) A micro-biography of Joseph Haydn, W. A. Mozart, and Ludwig van Beethoven that discusses influences and relations, blah, blah, blah.

Yawn, that’s a no-brainer.

This evening in class we spent the first part reviewing a few things and having a brief question/answer session, and then for the rest of class we watched the film, Amadeus.

This isn’t exactly the toughest class I have ever had.

I was able to speak to the professor a bit. She seems nice enough, and I do not mean to downplay her qualifications, I mean, this class is for non-music majors. I suppose she should be asking me what I am doing there.

We talked about favorite composers and Eras, etc. She is into the French Impressionists (ugh!) with a deep love of Mozart; I mentioned my love for the great German composers. From Bach all the way to Prosser (hee hee).

Also, I was nearly vomited upon. Apparently a young lady was sick and as she was making the mad dash from her chair to the restroom, she was making a sort of trail, for lack of a better word, and she barely missed. I could have done without that.

. . .

Since moving to this college town from the dreary cultural wastelands of eastern Texas, I have been awash in people of vastly different cultures.

I’ve been in the nearby Wal-Mart and seen a Muslim family where the wife/mother is wearing the full robes, obscuring her face.

During the summer when I was coaching a baseball team, I heard a young Russian father yelling encouragement to his son on the field. It was actually quite endearing when, after his son had made a good play, the father shouted excitedly, in his thick Russian accent, to his son, “Give me a five, Nikolai!”

…And I’m all for it. I dig the melting pot concept of this country. Where anyone can come here, work hard, and make a life for themselves here – in a very existential way.

The melting pot is good, provided, you are willing to do some “melting” once you are here.

In my Music Appreciation class there is a group of Vietnamese students that represent about a third of the class. I wonder what sort of prejudice they encounter in this country.

Being the son of a Vietnam War Veteran, I have searched myself for any such prejudice – and found none.

But I wonder…

If I were to study in Vietnam – as the tall, broad-shouldered, Freckled-faced American that I am – what sort of prejudice would I encounter?

Prejudice, as a concept has eluded me for years.

To me, it is just as absurd an idea as retribution.

Retribution, although not the hot-topic is was a few years ago, is still a controversy sparker.

I don`t get it, myself.

When I was in my late teens, I started to take a very “anti-fashion” stance. I would wear my old blue jeans with a plain, army/navy-type T-shirt with some arcane phrase written on it in permanent marker.

One of my more popular designs was an olive drab shirt with “You owe me money” emblazoned across the chest. People got a kick out of that one.

Hmm.. come to think of it, I also had a shirt that I made for a buddy of mine that had “pervert” written across it in a sloppy, handwritten font. But anyway..

My point is, the reason (I think) that my “You owe me money” shirt struck such an immediate (positive) nerve with people, especially the people of my generation, was this idea that we are owed something.

As if, by Divine Right we should have this or we should have that or someone should take care of this or whatever…

Nobody is owed anything.

You come into this life with nothing to give, and everything you get is given to you. Even your very life is given to you.

But at the same time, we are all in debt.

We are indebted to our Creator, whether we acknowledge Him or not.

..And in the end, all accounts will be paid.

All wrongs will be righted and all crimes will be punished.

(Matthew 13:24 – 43)

. . .

The Fanaticism which discards the Scripture, under the pretense of resorting to immediate revelations is subversive of every principle of Christianity.

For when they boast extravagantly of the Spirit, the tendency is always to bury the Word of God so they may make room for their own falsehoods.

. . .

Quote o` the day:

“God foreordained, for His own glory and the display of His attributes of mercy and justice, a part of the human race, without any merit of their own, to eternal Salvation.”

– John Calvin (1509-1564)

Leave a Reply

